CMHC's own eligibility page for homeowner mortgage loan insurance sets the down payment rule a house hack depends on: 5% of the purchase price on homes at or under C$500,000, then 5% on the first C$500,000 plus 10% on the remaining portion, with total purchase price capped below C$1,500,000, plus GDS/TDS ceilings of 39%/44% of gross household income. What CMHC's published general-requirements page does NOT state, in the text this registry could verify, is a specific maximum unit count for an owner-occupied insured purchase โ confirm directly with your lender or CMHC before assuming a duplex, triplex, or fourplex definitely qualifies under these terms.
What CMHC's eligibility page actually states
The down payment rule that makes house hacking work is published directly on CMHC's general requirements page: minimum down payment is 5% of the purchase price for homes at or under C$500,000; for homes over C$500,000, it's 5% on the first C$500,000 plus 10% on the remaining portion up to the price cap. Total purchase price must be below C$1,500,000. The page also states household affordability limits directly: GDS (gross debt service) should not exceed 39% of gross household income, and TDS (total debt service) should not exceed 44%.
What this page's captured text does not state is a maximum number of units for an owner-occupied insured purchase. If you're evaluating a duplex, triplex, or fourplex specifically, that unit-count eligibility detail needs to be confirmed with your lender or CMHC directly โ this registry could not verify a specific unit-count rule from CMHC's own published text, and this page does not assert one.
House hacking a condo: the fee rule that changes your math
If the house hack is a condo where you rent out a room or a legal secondary unit, one specific CMHC rule affects how the mortgage is qualified: for CMHC-insured mortgages, 50% of monthly condominium fees must be included in both the GDS and TDS calculations (100% of site or ground rent applies instead for leasehold or chattel properties). That's a cost your DIY affordability math might not include if you're only budgeting the condo fee as a straight operating expense โ it also directly affects your debt-service ratios, which affects how much you can qualify to borrow in the first place.
Methodology
Down payment tiers, price cap, and GDS/TDS figures are reproduced exactly as stated on CMHC's own general-requirements page. Premium percentages by LTV tier and the 30-year amortization surcharge are reproduced exactly as published on CMHC's mortgage loan insurance cost page and its 2024 premium-revision notice. The worked example applies CMHC's own published premium rate to a stated loan scenario as arithmetic, not an estimate.
Sources
- CMHC โ General requirements to qualify for homeowner mortgage loan insurance โ accessed 2026-09-21
- CMHC โ CMHC mortgage loan insurance cost โ accessed 2026-09-21
- CMHC โ CMHC revises homeowner mortgage loan insurance premiums (media notice) โ accessed 2026-09-21
- CMHC โ Calculating GDS and TDS โ accessed 2026-09-21
- CMHC โ Premium information for homeowner and small rental loans โ accessed 2026-09-21